Organic Milk – Trader Joe’s 2% Cream Top Non-Homogenized

by Your Host on November 10, 2009


 

Trader Joe's 2% Cream on Top Organic Milk

Trader Joe's 2% Cream on Top Organic Milk

Product – Trader Joe’s 2% Cream Top Reduced Fat Organic Milk – Non Homogenized

Pasteurized – Yes
Pasteurization Method – Traditional (not ultra-pasteurized)
From Cows NOT Treated with Growth Hormone rBST – Yes
USDA Organic – Yes, also certified by Quality Assurance International
Ingredients –
Organic Reduced Fat Milk, Vitamin A Palmitate
Packaging – Plastic
Price – $3.59 for 1/2 Gallon

Rating: ★★☆☆☆ 

My Review – Let me start by saying that I really like Trader Joe’s and I really like non-homogenized milks.  However, I do not like Trader Joe’s non-homogenized milk, Trader Joe’s 2% Cream Top Reduced Fat Organic Milk – Non Homogenized.  First off, the cream on the top was not a nice cream that could actually be shaken back into the milk.  It was instead a thick yogurt-like mat at the top that I actually had to poke with my finger before any milk would pour out!  Without being able to mix the cream back in the milk tasted more like a non-fat that a creamy 2%.  Bummer, I really wanted to like this organic milk.

  Trader Joe’s 2% Cream Top Reduced Fat Organic Milk – Non Homogenized

Best of luck,

Organic Milk Review


{ 8 comments… read them below or add one }

Pascale March 3, 2010 at 11:49 pm

Odd that you don’t like this but you like the Straus, I guess the glass bottle makes all the difference. Yes Straus supplies this cream top milk to Trader Joe’s.

Your Host December 20, 2010 at 10:31 am

I will have to try this again. The time I purchased it the cream was so clumpy that it could not be mixed back into the milk. Maybe the glass jar is the difference. Thanks for your input!

Rick March 6, 2011 at 7:03 pm

I have to agree with you I tried Trader Joe’s Organic milk for the first time this last week. When I opened the container I could not even pour the milk from the container. Once I read the label to make sure to shake well, which I then did it still was quite chunkey. I did enjoy the taste once I was able to completely mix the cream and liquid.

Rick March 6, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Do you also have or recomend a website that reviews Organic Eggs and Butter.

Your Host March 10, 2011 at 4:12 pm

Unfortunately I don’t. I do use organic eggs from Trader Joe’s and I like them really well. Please let me know if you come across any that you like.

Thanks!

Your Host March 10, 2011 at 4:14 pm

Thanks for you comments! I am glad to know that this has happened to someone else. Make sure you try the Straus, it is amazing for a cream on top milk!

BC July 2, 2012 at 11:56 pm

They have different suppliers. Even if it’s one of the major processors, they also have multiple suppliers that get their milk from dozens of dairies around the country. Not to mention that the taste and consistency of milk changes seasonally along with differences with the individual dairies. There isn’t always a lot of consistency with a natural product like milk.

I remember seeing the plant code on a carton or bottle of TJ’s milk sold in the San Francisco Bay Area, and it was the same plant code that I saw on a carton of Clover-Stornetta milk. I suspect they’re a supplier for TJ’s in the area. It might be very different in another part of the country.

Jennifer Thompson December 16, 2012 at 3:25 pm

I have weaned my one-year-old and am looking for a nice whole milk, cream top. I bought the Strauss at a San Diego Whole Foods. I was very excited to try this glass jar, specialized (and expensive because that means better right?) milk. It spoiled six days before code. I worried for days that I fed it to my girl before I smelled the nastiness. Luckily, she didn’t have any gi issues. So, my point is that I would stick with the Trader Joe’s even though Strauss has a very inticing website.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: